New Year, New Blog, New Post

I have never really been big on resolutions because I am in the school of thought that you can make a change in your life any day of the week or month of the year, you can celebrate Jesus’ birthday any and everyday and you don’t only have to wear green on March 17. I’m a bit of a rebel I guess. BUT this year I am more fulfilling a promise to myself than making a resolution, one of the many promises I have yet to take action on that I have been cooking up in my mind for quite some time now.

I was recently reminded that when I was younger, I used to LOVE to write and journal! I constantly had a pen and pad more often than not I had something to say about everything. Not a lot has changed other than a few inches in height and the fact that I don’t stop to write down all the wonderful, crazy things that are floating around my head anymore. I think I really miss it. I also believe it might give me a good half hour everyday to decompress and take in all the things that happen at light speed in my life everyday. So I have decided to lose the pen and paper and start a blog.

I have wanted to do this for a while but I always think about what people will say or think about the things I am writing and then I realized I don’t care. I am doing this for me. No one has to read this and I don’t care if anyone does. I am leaving it public for those of you that live thousands of miles away and want to know what’s going on in my life. If you don’t want to know and you don’t care, no one is making you read this! If you don’t agree with something, great! That just means you’re human and probably an intelligent and interesting person! You can comment or not. I don’t care either way. I have decided that I am doing this for me and no one else but I am happy to share with any and everyone that wants to read.

So now that that’s out of the way:

These blogs will feature a general summation of events from EACH DAY OF THE YEAR {that’s right folks, one for EVERYDAY (keep me accountable pllleeasseee!!!!)}, probably some crazy stories seeing as I live in a place where crazy things oft happen, maybe some insight or over-opinionated Chelcy-like thoughts, and 5 key moments from that day. These key moments will be Favorite Part of the Day, Least Favorite Part of the Day, What I Learned, What I am Thankful for, and What I Will Do Differently Tomorrow. I believe keeping track of these things will not only be fun but will help me to have a better out look on life and keep me accountable for sticking to a “resolution” everyday and not just through the end of January.

DAY 1
New Years Day

I counted down to the 2012 on a 15 minute break from work. The good part about it is that I work with Ben so we got to be together! We found a window on one of the outer decks the that customers didn’t know about to watch the fireworks. It was realllllllly cold and windy but it was pretty! Work was a little rough. I was still recovering from a stomach bug, there were drunk obnoxious people EVERYWHERE, and I had no voice to sing but still had to sing 3 times… Luckily most of the clientele is ignorant to those kind of things so they thought I was genius. In fact, one guy bowed down to me, kissed my hand and said, “I am not worthy!” Hah! Too bad he doesn’t have Bernie Telsey’s job. That would make my life a cakewalk. Anywho, it ended up being a great night to work and despite all of the negativity about working on New Year’s Eve, I made the most money I have ever made at that job!

We left the boat about 1:50 so we clearly missed the public transit. For those of you that don’t know, Boston’s public transit stops at 1 a.m. on regular nights and 2 a.m. for NYE. We missed it by a long shot either way. We had 3 trains to catch and there was no way. We decided to try to hail a cab and split the cost with a few friends…….us and about 1,237 other inebriated individuals. Let’s just say we walked for 2 miles in the freezing cold weather, almost witnessed 2 deaths, and practically survived what seemed to be a Zombie Apocalypse before FINALLY getting a cab at 3 a.m. I couldn’t believe the amount of trash, vomit, and pure idiocy we had to walk through to find a cab and get home! We should have had big flashing signs above our heads that said “WE DESERVE A CAB BEFORE ALL OF THESE OTHER PEOPLE BECAUSE WE JUST SPENT OUR NEW YEAR’S EVE SERVING ALL OF THESE DRUNK IDIOTS!”

We got home about 3:30 and I said “Ben, do NOT wake me up under any circumstance!” and I crashed.

After a pretty decent sleep (I could’ve slept longer), we slowly put ourselves together enough to go out for lunch with some friends…which turned into dinner with some friends because AGAIN, public transit in Boston is less than reliable. It took us an hour and a half to get to Cambridge from our apartment. If we were in a car it would’ve been a mere 10 minutes!!!!! It all paid off when we sat down for a delicious Irish meal with our good friends Marika and Drew who we haven’t really hung out with a lot in a long time! I had a really yummy Shepherd’s Pie and Ben had a pork chop. It was my first real meal in 3 days! Success!

We finished off the first day of 2012 with some more fun and games at Mitch and Maura’s! We watched the season premier of Mobwives which was a GREAT surprise! We didn’t think it was coming back and I am sooo glad it did!! Everyone needs a little Renee and Drita in their lives. Then we played a little Apples to Apples and called it a night when I remembered that I volunteered to go into work tomorrow for a load out shift at 9 am…. oops….

Overall, I would say it was a good start to the year. A good time spent with good friends! Although, I am sad to admit that I did not partake in the eating of Black-Eyed Peas and Cabbage a la the Southern tradition (Sorry Maw Maw!). I also didn’t choose to take part in the replacement Polish tradition like some of the others: Pickled Herring chased by a shot of vodka. No thanks. And I thought Black-Eyed Peas and Cabbage was gross…. so here’s to a great 2012!

(Hopefully future blogs will be less of a narrative of my day and have a little bit more meat about them but you gotta start somewhere!)

Favorite Part of the Day: Getting to sleep in and spend some time with friends I haven’t seen in a while!

Least Favorite Part of the Day: MBTA.

What I Learned: A vast majority of people my age are really immature and just straight up obnoxious.

What I am Thankful for: People who can have a good time without being wasted, Making money instead of spending it on New Year’s Eve, Being able to eat a full meal after a stomach bug

What I Will Do Differently Tomorrow: Try to plan bus trips better, Give better and more meaningful hugs**

Song of the Day:
What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve? 

**I have a friend that is the BEST hug giver ever!!! He really cherishes each hug with each friend (of both sexes for all of you dirty minded people) and I believe he genuinely loves all of his friends so much that he takes the time to appreciate them and say that by a giving great hug! 🙂

One thought on “New Year, New Blog, New Post

Leave a Reply

