Broken Tumbler

Day 9 – January 9, 2012
Broken Tumbler

Today was the mother load of all laziness. We woke up about 2:30 pm. I guess that’s what happens when you stay up until 4 a.m. The sun was already going down. With how early the sun sets here, days are noticeably shorter. Because of that, we truly accomplished nothing. We ate a meal…Not sure which meal it was considered. And then I dove into the depressing act of searching for jobs. Because having 1 job isn’t good enough. I have 2 shifts on the boat this week as does Ben. That will get us maybe $200. Pretty exciting stuff. I applied for Lululemon, Teavana (AGAIN) and wait for it…….Starbucks. I am embarrassed that it has come to that. I also spend a good amount of time searching LinkedIn and Craigslist. All of the job searching put me in a terrible mood. I sometimes hate my career decision. I can’t believe I spent so much money for a degree that will never help me make that money back! What a bad idea!!! I am doing theatre for free while doing stupid jobs on the side. C’est la vie, right? Well right at the apex of my horrible mood, as I was coping with the fact that I was applying to Starbucks, Ben tripped over a cord that knocked my tea tumbler off the desk. It shattered into a million pieces. It was the perfect symbolic moment, straight out of a novel. If I was in Mrs. Kemper’s AP Lit class all over again, that would be a question on one of her tests. Ben and I were arguing about the tumbler breaking for whatever reason, until he locked me in the kitchen and said “Sit! Sit down! I will clean it up!” I couldn’t help but burst into laughter. I think it was the only emotion I had left, not to mention the fact that he ordered me to “sit” like he would Mellie. It was just all too much at that point.

We wasted away the rest of the night playing Super Mario on Wii and talking to Clayton on Skype. Between talking to Clayton and a friend earlier in the day who is trying to get me on board for a project next fall in Boston, I realized that we really need to be thinking about what we are going to do when Ben graduates. This inspired me to start looking for apartments on craigslist in New York. I guess that’s where we want to end up. It seems like the logical next step. More job opportunities for both of us, friends, 24 hour public transportation…I mean it’s New York City, how many reasons do you need? It’s really expensive though. Should we keep our “jobs” here and continue to network with the people we already know? I sort of have a few opportunities directing/choreographing lined up. It would give us time to save up and do the move “right.” Or should we just go for it? I once heard that there is always more reward after taking the harder option. We could transfer our boat jobs until we found something better and more related to our fields of interest. Ugh! Too many questions that I don’t know the answers to. The only thing I do know for sure right now is that I need a new tumbler.

Favorite Part of the Day: Watching Once Upon A Time! It’s back!

Least Favorite Part of the Day: Job hunting

What I Learned: We are really poor…

What I am Thankful For: My mama always encouraging me through the hard times.

What I will Do Differently Tomorrow: Try to not let the negative things in life affect me so much

Leave a Reply

