Downton Abbey

Day 10 – January 10, 2012
Downton Abbey 

This post is going to be a little different. I did one thing all day and that was watch Downton Abbey. There really is nothing interesting to say other than the show is incredible! Everyone should watch it! It is so well written, the characters are amazing, the costume and hair design makes me want to invent a time machine and Maggie Smith is a genius! So in honor of the show, this post will consist of some memorable quotes from the series.
Some of these quotes may contain spoilers !

 

“Of course it would happen to a foreigner. No Englishman would dream of dying in someone else’s house.”
Lady Grantham, the Dowager Countess

“I love you, Mr. Bates! And I know it’s not ladylike to say so, but I’m not a lady and I don’t pretend to be.”
Anna Smith, Head Housemaid

Lady Grantham: “Why would you want to go to a real school? You’re not a doctor’s daughter.”
Sybil: “Nobody learns anything from a governess, apart from French and how to curtsy.”
Lady Grantham: “What else do you need? Are you thinking of a career in banking?”
Cora: “Things are different in America.”
Lady Grantham: “I know. They live in Wigwams.”
“I hope you know that really smart people sleep in separate rooms.”
Lady Mary Crawley

“No one ever tells you about raising daughters. You think it’ll be like Little Women, and instead they’re at each others’ throats.”
Cora, the Countess of Grantham

“What’s a ‘weekend?'”
Lady Grantham, the Dowager Countess

Lady Edith: (in reference to Lary Mary’s beau) “So he slipped the hook”
Lady Mary: “At least I’m not fishing with no bait”

 

(to Daisy, the kichen maid) “Daisy, what’s happened to you? I said you could go for a drink of water, not a trip up the Nile.”
Mrs Patmore, Cook

Carson: “We may have to have a maid in the dining room.”
The Earl of Grantham: “Cheer up, Carson. There are worse things happening in the world.”
Carson: “Not worse than a maid serving a duke.”
“I’m a woman, Mary. I can be as contrary as I choose.
Lady Grantham, the Dowager Countess

Earl of Grantham: (talking about their daughter) “Poor old Edith. We never seem to talk about her.”
Countess of Grantham: “I’m afraid Edith will be the one taking care of us in our old age.”
Earl of Grantham: “What a ghastly prospect!”
(about his daughter) “Mary can be such a child. She thinks that if you put a toy down, it’ll still be sitting there when you want to play with it again.”
Robert, the Earl of Grantham

Lady Mary Crawley: “Sybil is entitled to her opinions.”
Violet, Dowager Countess of Grantham:“No. She isn’t until she is married, then her husband will tell her what her opinions are.”

 

Isobel: “What should we call each other?”
The Dowager Countess: “Well, we could always start with Mrs. Crawley and Lady Grantham.”
[about Mrs. Hughes meeting an old flame] If she’s got a boyfriend, I’m a giraffe.
Sarah O’brien 

No one wants to kiss a girl in black.
Dowager Countess of Grantham

One way or another, everyone goes down the aisle with half the story hidden.
Dowager Countess of Grantham

Your quarrel is with my daughter, Rosamund, and not with me. So put that in your pipe and smoke it.
Dowager Countess of Grantham


Cora, Countess of Grantham: Are we to be friends then?
Dowager Countess of Grantham: We are allies, which can be a good deal more effective.

Lady Grantham: “So, that’s Mary’s replacement. Well, I suppose looks aren’t everything.”
Cora: “I think she seems rather sweet. I’m afraid meeting us all together must be very intimidating.”
Lady Grantham: “I do hope so.”

Lady Grantham: “You are quite wonderful the way you see room for improvement wherever you look. I never knew such reforming zeal.”
Mrs Crawley: “I take that as a compliment.”
Lady Grantham: “I must have said it wrong.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

