Cross-Country Friends (and not the running kind)

Day 13 – January 13, 2012
Cross-Country Friends (and not the running kind)

Friday the 13th! Oooh! Pretty freaky. I suppose it is a little odd that the first month of 2012 had a “Friday the 13th” in it but oh well. Let’s not read too much into it. I only had one really freaky Final Destination kind of experience. I was out with Mellie and we stopped for her to pee and the second I took a step away from the spot where I was standing and huge tree brach fell out of the sky and landed right behind me….creepy. Other than that, pretty normal day. In fact, pretty good day. Ben and I had Chipotle for the second time this week. We really need to go to the grocery. When we got to Chipotle, it was mid 50s and semi pleasant outside. When we left, quite the opposite. It had dropped to 30 degrees and the wind was gusting at 39 mph! No thanks! After that change in the weather, I devoted the rest of my day to indoor activity. Ben was off to work for the night so I had some time to myself 🙂 It’s always nice to get a little “me” time.

Ironically enough, my best friend, who lives 3,100 miles away, didn’t have any plans for the night either. Every once in a while we have epic phone dates that last for hours. Tonight was definitely one of those nights. It was the best. I cuddled up on the couch with my laptop, my phone and pint of ice cream. I was set for the night. We watched thousands of youtube videos and laughed the night away. It’s amazing that out of our 6 years of friendship, we have spent only 2 years actually living in the same place. I love how our friendship transcends the trials of distance. I know it sounds corny but it’s true! AND We are probably closer now than we were when we lived 2 minutes away from each other. Only a month and a few days, and we will be sassing all around New England! Can’t wait!!! But for now we have our technology.

Obviously, I stayed up way too late. I have work tomorrow morning at 9:30. Ick. I don’t think I remember what it’s like to wake up early. I don’t think it will be fun rediscovering that!

Favorite Part of the Day: “Hanging out” with my best friend for hours on a Friday night.

Least Favorite Part of the Day: The ridiculous wind. (Is there a trend going here? Do I always talk about the weather sucking?)

What I Learned: Friends are definitely quality over quantity no matter where in the world they live 🙂

What I am Thankful For: I got a job interview!

What I Will Do Differently Tomorrow: Find positive things about the stupid New England weather.

 

Leave a Reply

