Get a second job…check!

Day 16 – January 16, 2012
Get a second job…check!

Today is the day I am going to get another job. I had an interview with Starbucks. It went really well. The woman I interviewed with was nice, the job sounded great, nice benefits etc. It just didn’t feel like the right thing for me. I mean anyone can work at Starbucks right? I can’t really see myself working there. I don’t feel like I would be excited to be going there everyday. But the interview was successful as far as I could tell. On the way out, I got a phone call from Teavana. I had been waiting to hear back from them for…well really, for years now, but I left a message with someone Friday and still hadn’t heard back. Since I was in the neighborhood, I decided to go ahead and make an appearance at the store. I know I have the perfect skill set for the job and heck, even the product knowledge. I am sick of having my applications tossed aside.

So let’s rewind. I have tried to apply online several times. When I hit the submit button, it didn’t seem to have sent the form. So a friend of mine knows a manager at Teavana and he gave her a call. She gave me a number and a person to call to settle things out.  Fast forward to today. The message I got said “Hey, I was just returning your call. Give me a call back.” So, like I said before, I decided to just stop by the store to surpass anymore miscommunication. Well, when I got in the store, there was even more confusion because someone different had called me back, she didn’t know who I was or why I was there, she didn’t have any record of me applying. It was a mess. So, the manager on duty let me re-apply online in the store and we ended up finding my resume. She tried to fill out the form online and it didn’t work for her either. That was a huge relief. I no longer looked like AS big of an idiot. She had me sample some tea. Sell her the tea. Stand outside with the tea samples and try to get people to come to the sample cart. I had 5 minutes to reel someone in. With 1 minute and a half left, one of the other workers came and whispered to me “You have 1 min and a half left. If you get someone to come, you get the job. No pressure.” Right. No pressure. Well, long story short, I didn’t get anyone to come but they ended up offering me the job! I think they were just trying to put me in a high pressure situation or scare me off but to no avail! Hah! I am so excited! I have been wanting to work here for so long. I really do value the product as a customer and I am excited to be selling it! I go in Wednesday to finish up paperwork and hopefully start training.

After that stressful first half of the day, I headed home for a a relaxing evening. Ben and I hung out and had some leftovers and watched Mythbusters. I think we watched one of my favorite myths yet. They successfully skipped a sports car across a pond, like a rock!! Tonight we were both pretty tired and turned in early. Although, right before bed I noticed that it looked a little extra bright outside. To my surprise there was a few inches of snow on the ground! Who knew!! We didn’t even notice it was snowing. It’s nothing that will last too long. I think tomorrow is supposed to get up to the 40s. It will just be nasty, muddy snowmelt for a few days. Though it wasn’t very pretty or noteworthy, we have officially had our first snow of the winter! I don’t think the random snow/ice storm on Halloween counts. So Happy Winter!

Favorite Part of the Day: Chilling out with Benni watching Mythbusters

Least Favorite Part of the Day: Stressful interviews

What I Learned: Boston snowstorms can be sneaky! If you look away for an hour, you might miss it!

What I am Thankful For: A New job.

What I Will do Differently Tomorrow: Not stress about income 🙂

Leave a Reply

