Is it Just Me, or Is It Gettin Nodesy in Here?

Day 17 – January 17, 2012
Is it Just Me, or Is It Gettin Nodesy in Here?  

Now that I have a second job secured, I can relax a bit more. So today, I did just that. I go in for my first shift tomorrow morning so took it slow most of the day. I watched some AFV on Netflix, which I think is one of their better recent adds. I also watched a really interesting movie called “The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman.” It was about a woman born into slavery who lived to see the civil rights movement in the 60s. It was a really interesting story. It crazy to think how far we have come and how far we still have to go. It just blows my mind that people really thought they were in the right for treating someone so horribly different because the color of their skin. How did that ever make sense to anyone?? I know that that school of thought isn’t completely archaic, but at least we are progressing as a society.

On a less political note, we had our second rehearsal for Wild Party tonight. It went pretty well. The show is so rangy. It’s going to be quite a challenge, especially when we start dancing around. Lately, I have had a lot of trouble with me voice. I don’t know what the problem is. I guess it has been going on for a month or so now. My voice tires out after talking for 5 minutes. Half way through the day, I already feel like I have been singing for hours. Rehearsal tonight was really rough. I wasn’t able to sing quietly at all and before we even started singing, my voice as already feeling tired. I mean this in all seriousness, but I am worried I might have nodes. I don’t feel like I use my voice enough to have them but I guess I am not really sure what it takes…Maybe I got them as a curse for always making fun of people with nodes…All I know is that I need to get into an ENT while I have good insurance. I secretly hope they look in my sinus cavity and my vocal chords and say, “Oh my! You have a terrible cyst that we can remove and it will solve all of your problems.” It sounds horrible, but at least it would be an easy fix. By the end of rehearsal I was hardly able to sing anything and when I did I was extremely pitchy. I was annoying myself, not to mention probably everyone around me. I really hope this whole process isn’t like this. Maybe I am just out or practice or something silly like that. I will see how it progresses (or regresses) before I do anything crazy.

Well, time for bed. I’m a working girl! I have to get up early tomorrow!

Favorite Part of the Day: Putting lotion on after shaving…sounds weird but its a great thing!

Least Favorite Part of the Day: My voice being stupid

What I Learned: Just because the Emancipation Proclamation was put into action slaves were “freed” they really didn’t have freedom for almost 100 years. I guess I didn’t really “learn” that, I knew it before but I never really thought about what it actually meant.

What I am Thankful For: Living in a world that is progressing more and more everyday towards equality for all.

What I Will do Differently Tomorrow: Work!

Leave a Reply

