I Suck

Day 18 – Day 25
I Suck 

I officially suck. I already failed at keeping up with this thing. It has gotten really busy around here! I work weekdays at Teavana, I have rehearsals and aerial classes at night, more rehearsal on the weekend and boat work. It’s been crazy!!

I am really enjoying working at Teavana! It’s nice to have a job where I enjoy training and learning about the product and studying the  manual. It’s all knowledge I want to have! Plus I get to drink tea all day. It’s a dream! The boat is slowing down a lot. We have one more cruise before the boat is shipped off to Connecticut for repairs for a month. Not a lot of people can say that their job is going to Connecticut for a month… Hopefully when it returns there will be LOTS of shifts! We’ll see…It will officially be soda/juice season which means lots of kids. But I’m not complaining. It’s better than nothing.

Ben had a birthday while I was neglecting this blog! For his birthday we had our inaugural Food Club meeting. That’s right. We started a food club. It’s basically like Iron Chef, but a club and a lot less is at stake. We have come up with 50 ingredients that have been put into a randomizer online. 2 days before we meet for Food Club, we select the ingredient. Then we randomly assign who gets which course (appetizer, main course, dessert, cocktail). The dish must be made with that ingredient. The first ingredient we picked was vinegar. I think we all were a little nervous going into it, but it really turned out great! Drew made a wonderful raspberry and blackberry cocktail with balsamic vinegar that I think ended up with the name The Sour Dangleberrytini. For appetizers we had Caprese salad, salt and vinegar chicken wings, spring rolls with a vinegar dipping sauce and my interesting kale chips. I burnt them to a crisp the first time around. I didn’t really feel confident putting leaves into a 350 degree oven for 12 minutes and rightly so. When I pulled them out, they were not really kale as much as they were char. The second batch turned out much better! It wasn’t really my favorite thing in the world but I think I got voted “Most Surprisingly good tasting compared to what it looked like” or something along those lines. For main course we had some fish, potato and zucchini thing that I didn’t eat but it looked really pretty, and a balsamic chicken and asparagus. For dessert, Benni made a WONDERFUL strawberry and pink lemonade sorbet cake!! It was soooo good!! Although, I kept getting crap because he made his own birthday cake….but he picked dessert! Anyway, it was quite the success and I can’t for the next one. I hope we get tea! 🙂

Rehearsal is moving along nicely. I think I am just not realizing how difficult it is going to be to learn a show I don’t know at all. It is evident at rehearsals that most people have listened to the CD so they know the basic melodies of the songs. I have no idea what’s going on. Nonetheless, I am still excited about the challenge of learning a new show. It’s just going to be quite the task. It’s a wordsy kind of show! Luckily, we still have 2 months.

Tuesday, before rehearsal, I had some time to kill and I ended up going on a bit of a shopping spree at the thrift store. I got 2 skirts, 2 blazers and a dress for $38! Thrift shopping is the best! I also got two skirts at Forever 21. I officially have dressy casual attire.

So that about sums up the past week that I have been MIA. I will try realllllly hard to be better about keeping up!

Neil countdown: 23 days!!!

Leave a Reply

