Workin Through the Cold

Day 34-37 – February 3-6, 2012
Workin Through the Cold

Feb 3 – Worked at Teavana all day. Getting more comfortable with the whole sales process. My sales were a lot better today for sure! Benni met up with me after work and we had a cute little dinner date in the mall food court. It is one of our favorite spots because we don’t like a lot of the same food (well, I don’t like a lot of the food Ben likes) and we can both get whatever we want and it’s cheap! We don’t have to tip and we can sit down and eat together away from the house and both enjoy our meals. I like our food court dates. Afterwards, we are always too full to move so we end up sitting there and talking for about an hour. This time we  talked a lot about the show that he is currently writing. I think we sorted out a lot of things as far as structure goes. It’s going to be a great show once everything is all on paper! He is having a few songs performed Feb 20. I am really excited for him. I think people will like it a lot. It’s relatable, funny, sad, real, relevant, all those good things. I also enlightened Ben that the show is autobiographical. He was completely shocked! I thought he knew! When the shock came over his face, I thought he was joking. Nope….he had no idea. I guess that sort of thing is a bit unavoidable for writers. He knew that much. But he didn’t realize how close of a parallel it was to his life. Silly Ben! I will post videos from the show after the concert.

When we got home I made a great discovery myself. The Wizard of Oz ON ICE!!! Who knew?????? It happened in 1996 starring Oksauna Bauil! How did I not see or hear about this before now?????  Anyway, all is well because I watched it and it was brilliant.

Here is the link for those curious: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gm55VXGZY4&feature=results_main&playnext=1&list=PL4129A1534CCC103A

You definitely should check it out. It’s pretty much pure genius!

Feb 4 – Talked to Neil for a while this morning about his trip! I am sooooooo excited he is coming! Boston is not even ready. We are also going to New York for a few days. We are going to christen our friendship by seeing not 1, but 2 Broadway shows! Our plan is to see War Horse at the matinee and Anything Goes in the evening. It’s going to be a blast!

On a less exciting note, I had rice for lunch today. That’s it. just rice. We are poor and have no food. There has been a lot of rice, pasta, and pancakes around the Harrell place the past few days. I don’t mind so much but Ben doesn’t understand what it means to have a meal without meat. It’s like the meal is void if there isn’t at least a tiny piece. He is getting used to it though. Although, I think he is sick of my pancakes…but they are so easy to make!!! And cheap! I don’t know how so many people my age eat so well. It’s really expensive. I guess we could go to the grocery store and find some good deals and use coupons…that’s a thought…..oh well! Rice it is today.

We watched a really interesting documentary today called The Rape of Europa. It is about the the effect of WWII on art. Hitler and his cronies went around looting famous art from museums throughout Europe, stealing for his own personal collection. Interestingly enough, he was an artist himself. He applied to an art academy but didn’t get in. The other students that applied that get in were Jewish. Hmm. It is a really dark but really interesting documentary. It sheds a light on a part of the war that we don’t often hear about. It’s one of those things where you think, “Hmm. I never though about that.” I am so fascinated by the history that surrounds that era. I also like seeing the causes for certain events; the origin of people, ideas, and movements. It is really clear why art became what it did shortly after WWII. Basically, I just love documentaries. I am THAT guy. When I turn on Netflix, I go straight to the documentaries section. I want to watch them all! But, the clock ticks and I realize it’s time for work….

I had work on the boat tonight. Crazy right? It was a random indy cruise with just Mitch and I as the servers. I was looking forward to some good tips but these people were awful. I hardly got 10% in some instances. One table gave me $2 on a $50 tab after I did so much them!!! I gave them a refill on one of our fishbowl drinks, with the manager’s approval, when we are really not supposed. I expressed to them that we made a special exception and they gave me 2 dollars!!!! GRR! It’s hard not to focus on the financial outcome at that job, especially right now when I am eating plain rice for every meal. To top it all off, I am starting to feel a little bit sick…Times is hard…

Feb 5 – Woke up today with my allergies attacking me full force! I really need to get my medicine refilled but we have to pay bills first. What a world, where I have to choose paying bills or breathing. Lame. I didn’t really do a lot today. I felt awful. I lounged around with toilet paper stuck up my nose watching Mythbusters all day.

In spite of most of the world stopping because of the Super Bowl today, the circus folk go on. I had silks tonight and it was a lot of fun! We worked on some back balancing, a new knee hang, and we did some improv. Basically, we were given choreography that was very simple. We did the combo 3 times, each time with a different mood and intention to some music. It was so much fun to get to play around in very simple positions, to experiment with different ways to get in and out of tricks that we know really well depending on the character and mood we were given. I can’t wait to be able to perform an actual piece. It is still a while down the road but I am excited. Maybe since this whole theatre/musical theatre thing isn’t working out so well, I will just run away with the circus. Sounds logical. At least it will be nice to have a gimmick. Then they have to hire me!!!! Muahahahaha!

After class I headed over to Mitch and Maura’s for the rest of the game. Waiting for the bus was a bit twilight zoneish. I was the only person in sight for miles! Harvard Square was like a ghost town. I am pretty sure I was the only person in the city not watching the game. I caught the last 2 quarters. It was a fun game to watch. I could really care less about the outcome but it’s always fun to be in good company and eat some football game food complete with a chocolate football cake. We watched the ADORABLE puppy bowl after and the first episode of The Voice. I have never seen it before but I really liked it! Too bad we don’t have cable. I might try and catch it online this season. It seems a lot more legit than American Idol. They actually let GOOD trained singers compete. Who knew??

Still not feeling too great so I am going to bed asap! Ben gets paid tomorrow which means I get medicine! YAY!

Feb 6 – Slept in way late today. Still not feeling great. I couldn’t sleep at all last night. My throat hurt so bad but it was so hot in our bedroom that I needed the fan on but it was hurting my throat to have the fan on and whine whine whine complain whine ouch. When I woke up my throat was on fire. I put on some Silver Needle tea and made pancakes. I also have recently discovered Jeff Blumenkrantz’s podcast. I know I am a bit behind the times, but he has a ton of his music on there to listen to for free including his most recent series, Month Upon a Time. He has been writing a song for each month starting last June. It’s pretty good stuff.

Worked at Teavana today. I tried so many different tea concoctions to try to help my throat. So far nothing has really helped. I think I finally caught what Ben had. Or my body just hates me and I have terrible allergies and sinus problems all the time. We had a competition at work today. We often do. I am terrible at them. Some of the other people are really competitive. I just like to do my job with no other added pressures. If I win, I win. The end. By the time my shift was over I was feeling pretty awful. I got some Qdoba with my lousy tip money from the boat and headed home.

I started reading An Actor Prepares today. It is so good!!!! I am hoping it inspires me be a brilliant actor. Here are a few great quotes that I have highlighted in the first chapter and a half.

“The actor, no less than a soldier, must be subject to iron discipline.”

“It drives you into such a state that all you can do is long for your turn to get through with the thing that you are afraid of.”
(Speaking on the feeling of watching someone on stage just before you go on)

“But the minute the curtain rose, and the auditorium appeared before me, I again felt myself possessed by its power.”

“You may play well, you may play badly; the important thing is that you should play truly.”

“The fundamental aim of our art is the creation of this inner life of a human spirit, and its expression in an artistic form.”

“Plan your role consciously at first, then play it truthfully.”

“Our aim is not only to create the life of a human spirit, but also to express it in a beautiful, artistic form.”

“In our art, you must live the part every moment you are playing it, and ever time.”

Good stuff. I am excited to read more of the book and the other two in the series.

When I got home I talked to Neil for a while on the phone. Basically, I have decided that we are the same person. We live on the complete opposite sides of the country, yet we are the same person! I love it. I can’t wait for him to be here in 12 days 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

